Revelation Study: The Seven Spirits of Yahoah


In Revelation 4:5, it speaks of the Seven Spirits of God:

Revelation 4:5 Out from the throne come flashes of lightning and sounds and peals of thunder. And there were seven lamps of fire burning before the throne, which are the seven Spirits of God (NASB 1995)

The “seven lamps” are a picture of the Golden Menorah, or lampstand, in Heaven. The construction of the Tabernacle and implements — including the menorah (Exodus 25:31-40) — were a “copy and shadow” of the original in Heaven:

Hebrews 8:4 Now if He were on earth, He would not be a priest at all, since there are those who offer the gifts according to the Law; 5 who serve a copy and shadow of the heavenly things, just as Moses was warned by God when he was about to erect the tabernacle; for, “See,” He says, “that you make all things according to the pattern which was shown you on the mountain.” (NASB 1995)

The seven Spirits are mentioned three other times in Revelation:

Revelation 1:4 John to the seven churches that are in Asia: Grace to you and peace, from Him who is and who was and who is to come, and from the seven Spirits who are before His throne (NASB)

Revelation 3:1 He who has the seven Spirits of God and the seven stars, says this: ‘I know your deeds, that you have a name that you are alive, but you are dead. (NASB 1995)

Revelation 5:6 And I saw between the throne (with the four living creatures) and the elders a Lamb standing, as if slain, having seven horns and seven eyes, which are the seven Spirits of God, sent out into all the earth. (NASB 1995)

These seven Spirits are explained as follows:

Isaiah 11:2 The Spirit of the Lord will rest on Him,
The spirit of wisdom and understanding,
The spirit of counsel and strength,
The spirit of knowledge and the fear of the Lord. (NASB 1995)

For the text in Hebrew; see here.

So, the Seven Spirits of God (with the Tetragrammaton incorrectly translated as “Lord” by pagan tradition above) are:

  1. The Spirit of Yahoah,*
  2. The Spirit of wisdom,
  3. The Spirit of understanding,
  4. The Spirit of counsel,
  5. The Spirit of strength/might,
  6. The Spirit of knowledge,** and
  7. The Spirit of the fear/reverence of Yahoah.

*Tetragrammaton: yod-he-vav-he. The “vav” is pronounced like the “o” in Torah [tav-vav-resh-he], menorah [mem-nun-vav-resh-he], Eloah [aleph-lamed-vav-he] (=the singular form of Elohim), and Yehoshu’a [yod-he-vav-shin-ayin] (=Christ’s Hebrew name: Joshua, meaning “Yahoah saves;” Gr. ‘Iesous). This was confirmed in a Dead Sea Scroll fragment (4Q120) in which His Name was spelled iota-alpha-omega in Koine Greek; the omega corresponds to the vav. He truly is the “alpha and omega” (Revelation 22:13) — it is LITERALLY in His Name (HaShem)!

Image courtesy of the University of Pennsylvania College of Arts and Sciences

**The Hebraic root of “knowledge” is “yada.” So, now you know the origin of yada, yada, yada

PLEASE pray for these seven Spirits of Yahoah; I have for nearly 20 years.

Be sure to read the companion articles in the Revelation Study series:

Shema Yisrael! (Hear, Israel!)

Copyright (C) 1995-2018, L. Alan Schuetz. All rights reserved.

2 Timothy 2:15 Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth. (NASB 1995)

HaDerech Scroll - Paleo-Hebrew

22 thoughts on “Revelation Study: The Seven Spirits of Yahoah

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s